Ode to Peacockery

In a silly mood, way too much haiku appearing in my reader. This is no complaint thank you to everyone who takes the time, I just don’t think I fully understand the form.

My first (and quite possibly last) haiku is incorrectly referenced as an ode, any other mistakes should be cleverly hidden by that little ruse..no? Perhaps this an opportunity for review of any misdirectional guidance policies. What do you think about haiku? I don’t expect this topic to capture my attention for long, but it spawned haiku so it must be good.

A peacock summons

prey, predator and a mate

this pretty tail ends

Whatever you’re doing today, make sure you leave something for tomorrow or you may end up in a non-stop haiku writing frenzy and wondering why. I know there is very little chance of that and it is not entirely a bad thing, still…

3 thoughts on “Ode to Peacockery

  1. Swarn Gill says:

    I think the common appeal to the haiku is that it is short and has a very specific structure that most people think they can make one and call themselves a poet. Haikus also become popular again with Twitter since the 140 character limitation demands shorter messages. For me the appeal of the haiku is that it forces you to say something in a very limited space, which means that often your haiku tears down your message to its essence which leaves out the details allowing the reader the fill in details for themselves. A well written haiku often leaves much more time for contemplation than the actual time it took to read the haiku. There is much to ponder for a good haiku. That being said, I think people think writing a good haiku is easier than it actually is. I like the word play in your haiku in the last line. 🙂

    Like

    • jamborobyn says:

      Yes, well some of the haiku I have been reading distinctly reminded of the story of the peacock. We admire their tails but they can’t hide from predators easily and essentially they are caught in the same cycle of life as all of us with perhaps even less control over their fate. So being proud of that tail, or valuing form more highly than function…

      Like

    • jamborobyn says:

      Forgot to mention that I have also read some haiku recently that was amazing and had me thinking for ages…

      Like

Leave a Reply

