A Crush in the time of Cholera

She swam through the flames
that inspired the moon
My heart split asunder
My eyes were a-swoon
We dreamed of a question
A story, a dance
My heart, it was broken
You still took a chance

She rode a red dust storm
three times round the sun
In the moment you smiled
All thoughts felt as one
Transfixed and unconscious
Through eons of time
As old as we are now
All sense cloaked in rime

She fled past the new waves
That synchronise stars
Our loves have all faded
Our beings wear scars
Too honed for our purpose
We give up the game
How can you pay court when
You don’t know my name?

She slipped off an iceberg
That trailed the world’s tears
I’ve wanted to know him
For so many years
My soul is much lighter
I walk with new grace
As I head out the door
A big smile on my face.

In honour of Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Love in the time of Cholera is the most frequently purchased book I have read. I repeatedly lend out my copy (yes I read physical books) it never returns and I have to buy a new one. It is the only kind of love I understand, persistent, patient, earned, all-encompassing, a pure spring from which all that is good in life arises.

Really, I am just too old for crushes but I’ve had this one for more than 10 years and it doesn’t seem to be leaving anytime soon. He appears as if by magic when I least expect to see him and it changes the way I feel and think and dream for days afterwards. I hope he has the same crush.

4 thoughts on “A Crush in the time of Cholera

  1. Cubby says:

    This is a beautiful poem. No one is ever too old for crushes. I also hope he feels the same way. 🙂

    Like

    • jamborobyn says:

      Aww thanks for that. Fingers crossed. I hope you know how much I appreciate your feedback, Cubby, your poetry is consistently outstanding, if that’s possible and your blog is just plain addictive.

      Like

  2. Ming Blue says:

    Some things don’t change. And I’m inclined to believe what I see in the eyes. The eyes can’t lie, even if they try. : )

    Like

    • jamborobyn says:

      Well, we have spent a reasonable portion of each interaction just looking and smiling at each other, but I can only look directly at his eyes for a second or two before I am overwhelmed.

      I sometimes imagine how teenagers must feel – I did NOT go through anything like this when I was young. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

