My spirit brother

Had a crack at Cubby’s challenge, here… there is a first time for everything!

It seems I have been tricking myself each day
By surmising both of us are free and clear
Apparently I think, there’s no other way

For us to survive through each and every year
And to arrive at the appropriate place
A million moves to combat the shame and fear

That shadow our dreams, arising from disgrace
Today I find myself all covered in woe
For acceptance now I have given up the chase

I would protect you forever for love, but no
My spirit brother how far you have wandered
You cannot respond now it’s time I let go

Loyal and steadfast, my duty I’ve pondered
Like camels and straw our bond has been squandered.

3 thoughts on “My spirit brother

  1. Cubby says:

    This is a splendid terza rima sonnet! Love the message and flow of the poem. My apologies for taking so long to get back to you. You did a fantastic job! 🙂

    Like

    • jamborobyn says:

      Hey thanks Cubby, I am feeling kind of inspired by the form ever since you wrote “Those Who Judge” and this tiny exploration has led me to Dante which I have just purchased today. Who knows what that will do to my writing… it may even stop me dead in my tracks because I am having too much fun reading. Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

