The master and the mage

My second Terza Rima…

A deal I wish to offer
     for I would seek a change
I thought to cross the river
     aboard that floating barge
Although I try to reach it,
     the shore stays out of range.

I’ve come to seek my fortune,
     “Sir! How much would you charge?”
If I would, but fly across
     I’m hanging from a ledge
Alone and unprotected,
     the distance is too large.

Thrice my resolve was hardened
     to dive over that edge
But when the time drew closer
     my body would not budge.
I’m not a flying mermaid,
     this river can’t be dredged!

My forlorn past encroaches
     each step on this long trudge.
“May I enquire, your fairest price?”
     So I can safely gauge
In good faith, my hope to leave
     this old forsaken drudge.

The peaceful path where two are one
     where life outshines the beige
To float on by, our souls entwined,
     the master and the mage.

12 thoughts on “The master and the mage

  1. Rivera says:

    Very nice, Robyn… Really did enjoy it. πŸ™‚
    PS: Those who don’t believe in magic.. will never find it.

    Like

    • jamborobyn says:

      Why thank you Sir and how much do you charge? πŸ˜‰
      …I think I could do with some magic punctuation – I’m looking at it again and the punctuation is bugging me, probably why I need both the master and the mage.

      Like

      • Rivera says:

        I must say, Robyn, there IS TRULY “communication” between our minds. Just yesterday I was think about writing something concerning.. BOTH.. “a river” and “my price”.
        You can, if you wish edit and re-punctuate as you see fit..
        As far as “my price” goes… “It Ain’t Cheap”.. (working title)
        PS… Hi Robyn.. Nice to see you at my “window” (computer screen)..
        Do hope you are well and life is treating you good.. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • jamborobyn says:

        Perhaps we are lolling about in the same stream?

        There’ll be no more punctuation today, my friend, I really can’t drum up the enthusiasm (it’s getting late). Good to see you also.

        Life held a pleasant surprise today a swing back in the opposite direction from where the week started. Definitely not boring.

        How are you doing? Say Hi to Gracie for me (or give her a pat or whatever, but no kissing)

        Like

      • Rivera says:

        “Lolling in a stream?”.. I’m lucky if I can find my way out of a rain-puddle..!!
        Glad to hear about your good fortune (swing-back surprise).
        Gracie says “Hi..!! So nice of you to mention me. No kiss..?? Are you the “jealous type”??” LoL

        Like

      • jamborobyn says:

        Call me crazy but I don’t like kissing dogs – it makes me go “Eeeewww” like a small child.

        Like

      • Rivera says:

        Gracie’s insulted… But I do agree..

        Like

  2. This is one of those poems that is perfectly enjoyable for all types, including those that like to dive in and absorb all possible meaning.
    Great writing Robyn

    Like

    • jamborobyn says:

      Ah, thank you Scott, there are indeed many ways this one could be understood. It was a learning process that I went through whilst writing… where all I knew was the river must be crossed and I was going the wrong way about it. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. schaecami says:

    So I don’t think I’ve ever heard of a Terza Rima, or maybe I did briefly in my creative writing class. It seems like it’s alternating 7 syllables and then 6 in 6 line stanzas? It’s really cool and I love the poem itself. I love complex structure, I just have to practice them.

    Like

    • jamborobyn says:

      Actually, Terza Rima refers to the rhyming pattern. Think of the first and second line as one line, 13 syllables long, but there isn’t enough room on the page so I indented the second half of the line. The alternating 6 and 7 syllables is my flourish, it flows better for me if I add a little syllabic rhythm (did I just make up a word or a a phrase, LOL, can you tell I’ve never been to creative writing class??)

      Anyway, here is a link to the place where I picked up the rules http://reowr.wordpress.com/2013/10/25/circus-a-terza-rima-sonnet-and-challenge/, this lady (Cubby) has been so very encouraging and there are a number of these challenges on her blog with complete descriptions and examples of various forms.

      Like

  4. Cat says:

    Amazing, Robyn and, yes, they do seem to tie in together

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

