Survivorship Bias – WP Stats Challenge

Survivorship bias… I love it when people make up words!

The challenge is this – listen to this TedX talk, then take another look at your WordPress 2014 Annual Report. Then, if you feel the urge, as I did – have a look at the 5 least popular posts, or both extremes of whatever statistic is interesting to you.

Let this review inform your decisions on how to proceed towards your WordPress goals. Only you will know what prompted you to write a post in a particular way at a particular time, how it felt, and what your aim was.

Personally, I have a long history of deliberately making mistakes in order to gather more information before proceeding with a goal, but I’d forgotten. Thank you to my lovely friend, Steve, for pointing me to this timely reminder.

It’s all very well inspiring people to get on with it, but everyone gets stuck at “what is my next step?” at some point.

I have frequently and repeatedly come to the conclusion that if a person is unsure how to proceed then they probably don’t have enough information to make a decision yet.

For those of us with a more technical predisposition, I can thoroughly recommend Nassim Taleb’s “The Black Swan” to open your mind further to what might be overlooked or missing (whether you agree with what he writes or not – it will shift your perspective regardless).

I am dying to hear feedback…  so please drop me a note if you try it. Disagreement is thoroughly encouraged!  😉

Cheers
Robyn

3 thoughts on “Survivorship Bias – WP Stats Challenge

  1. mihrank says:

    wow – such great vision to learn from you – Thanks!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      You’re welcome! It’s funny how this exercise turned out. I still had the blinkers on when I went and reviewed my stats and it took quite a few attempts to notice that I was ignoring the very information I was looking for. Missing what I’m missing indeed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

