Walk with me

Treading these multi-hued lands
The history of this place unfolds.
It’s a song with a unique melody
Humming, low, sweet, melancholy
Whispered without words
Beneath clouds and trees.

Make my back your place to rest.
When you walk with me we both exist.
Abuse and ignore me, I become less than grey.
Come home again so I can flourish,
Vivid and diverse,
Walk with me not on me.

*

The inspiration for this poem is this post over here Reflecting on Rituals – An indigenous perspective on process as transformation. I’m indigenous but I can’t lay claim to any passed down knowledge from the ancestors. What occurs to me though, is that over time I’ve learned similar types of ideas as the author presents – from walking and listening to the earth of this wonderful country. It’s obvious to me – we regularly and repeatedly miss the point of what indigenous people and cultures, in fact, everyone that has arrived or will arrive on these shores, truly has to offer…  hmm… except perhaps Tony Abbott and that crazy Sydney hostage bloke… ignorance and assertion is not only ugly, it frequently ends in violence.

21 thoughts on “Walk with me

  1. Lorraine Spencer says:

    This is so good and love your commentary too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. charlypriest says:

    The poem as always great, and the commentary at the bottom was very interesting. Now, how do you find the time to write so good, know so much and then have the job that you have which is completely opposite to creative writing…..that is the mystery. I think you don´t sleep at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Just call me Nigel-No-Mates 😉 I spend most of my time alone. Maybe I won’t do that forever, but at the moment learning is pretty much all I am interested in. My work isn’t so opposite to creative writing as you would imagine. All this life learning stuff makes me particularly good at solving problems – usually with one word or one sentence, because I’m a bit cheeky and it shocks people that they were scratching their head for years, then I get called in and one person wants me there and everyone else is like “can’t we get some smart asian person to do this instead, what would she know?” You can be sure that I will give those people the shortest solution possible – and they will feel a little foolish for not figuring it out themselves. Computers, seriously: Null, 0, 1 – they are the choices – how hard can it be to get them all lined up once you’ve got a handle on how they work together? But nah, businesses always act as though the computers have human brains. So I have to use my creative skills to communicate with the people in those businesses – I have to imagine, as they seem to, all the little computers with faces and all kinds of morals and intentions of their own – so I can understand the way they see things and come up with the exact right thing to say that will end their particular problem. Ha! I’ve had way too much sleep overnight…

      Like

      • charlypriest says:

        Getting an asian person to do the job….haha, had to chuckle at that one. Good thing then, you know people and what they want. And is always good, in some occasions, to be undervalued and then prove them wrong, plus has to be quite a personally joyful feeling to oneself. Don´t sleep too much by the way.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Tish Farrell says:

    Walking together, how sad that so many of us would rather find reasons not to. Bold words as ever, Robyn. Also thanks for the link to Reflecting on Rituals – a topic long close to my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Ever glad to be of service, Tish, it’s a good article and interesting website. In response to some general racist silliness a week or so ago, I found myself saying for the first time “Get the hell off my street” and I realised it’s only people who make me feel like I don’t belong – the land is what I am connected to here in Australia.

      Like

  4. sojourner says:

    One of the curses of civilization/technology, etc, is that it separates: it separates animals from their natural habitats, it separates human beings from each other, and it separates human beings from this planet and nature.

    “It’s obvious to me – we regularly and repeatedly miss the point of what indigenous people and cultures, in fact, everyone that has arrived or will arrive on these shores, truly has to offer…”

    What would this world and our lives look like, if we were not divided, and we did appreciate each other and what each of us, individually, have to offer? If only…!

    Love your poetry!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      A curse and a blessing perhaps..? For the first time in human history a vast percentage of the global population can communicate directly with each other. Those who can’t are gaining more and more spokespeople every day. People can say what is in their hearts and at least one other person will hear it, frequently many more. I haven’t met you personally, but how could I feel divided from you when we have this wish for unity in common? I think one day people will look back on this period as one of miraculous change, regardless of how slowly everything seems to be moving towards the positive and in fact, appears as though it’s going quite negatively. Don’t look at the sky for the roots of the future… it’s down here on the ground. Up there in their towers, they can’t hear anything we’re saying but any fool knows how the tower story goes, so we’ll probably have to rescue them one of these days.

      I’m in a strange mood today, sorry about that 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • sojourner says:

        No need for sorry!

        You’re right, because we both desire unity and all that would bring to humanity, we are not divided. And I hope, more than abything, that your vision of things comes to pass.

        Keep this perspective, until maybe, one day, we old and tired pessimists can come to the same perspective!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. mihrank says:

    “Patience and wisdom walk hand in hand, like two one-armed lovers.”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nicely done. Feast for the mind

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Don Wolford says:

    “Make my back your place to rest” is a beautiful line. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. “When you walk with me we both exist.”

    YES!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. mihrank says:

    wow – your words is like a music melody = such a tune:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

