Eclipse in Scorpio

Today, I have two posts that are essentially “Missives from the scrap heap”. They are both on the topic of beauty and they have both been rejected by their original audience. I’m publishing them now because they do in fact pass the secret “What is my truth” test, so I’m happy to reconsider them as – yet to fulfil their purpose or find their true home.

“Eclipse” is not meant to be about sex. So far that’s what everyone seems to think it’s about. These days I can take it on the chin and find new meanings from such contrasts between what I was thinking when I wrote and what the reader hears. It’s potentially where the magic lives. So in the spirit of – take it however you will – I set this baby free!

4th November 1994
Eclipse in Scorpio

There’s a waking dream
Dormant ’til I felt true
And now my lighter is out of gas.
Don’t smoke this dream.
But I want this to float away
Up high on the air
Leave me down here with the ash.
Too real, too real –
Find matches quickly!
I think it’s gone now.

I open my chest
Golden light rainbow brilliant colour
Streams out and hits you in the face.
Then I open my chest
It’s grey and dead
I’ve taken out all the good bits.

Death and life
I want my skin off
So we can touch bones
My muscles to shrivel
And peel away
My organs inside this
Unbidden fortress.

I’m trying to think of
Beautiful words to say next
But “touch me
Is all that comes to mind.

I don’t want to be clever,
Say the right things,
Do the right things,
Be what you want.

No clothes
No desires
No trimmings
No trappings
No wishes
No mercy
No needs

I want to shine on you for an instant

And you’ll leave an echo
And you’ll journey with me
And you won’t remember.

I wish I could paint this
I want you to know me.

*

16 thoughts on “Eclipse in Scorpio

  1. mihrank says:

    you have two great posts, powerful, they both bring different meanings to learn!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Where the heck does someone get sexual overtones to this nicely written piece. What I got out of it are a lot of consciousness overtone and a plea to a partner to touch you not sexually but to touch someone spiritually. Thank you for sharing this. It was a pleasure to read

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this and your other post Robyn. It’s intriguing that some readers viewed the work as sexual when it is a direction to find and explore the inner core of the person. Both works stand on their own merit so I will comment on the other as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Indeed! it is intriguing. I guess now I’m kind of “whatever floats your boat, just leave me out of it” 😉

      I appreciate the feedback, and I’m glad you enjoyed it, Wendy.

      Like

  4. I think this is a masterful piece, one of your very best, that should be published on a bigger platform

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rivera says:

    A truly very beautiful heartfelt plea from one (your) soul, to another.
    Very nicely done, Robyn.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lorraine Spencer says:

    I like both of these.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Awesome writing again. I really like knowing these are from the archives 20 years ago or more. Kinda adds to the soul in it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

