The Collective

From the deep blue of ocean and sky
I draw the sense of a serene vastness
An amphitheatre for the renaissance

From light to shadow to light to shade
Endless exponential cycles of realisation
I am sitting here with night-blindness

All-quiet, by myself
Waiting for my vision to clear
I pause to wonder…
Who said the collective had to be unconscious?

*

This poem is dedicated to the four angels that keep hanging out the lanterns for me to find my way. They’ve got A reserve seats in that amphitheatre, for sure.

Lorraine Spencer

Sojourner

Claire Marie O’Brien

Nasser

16 thoughts on “The Collective

  1. mihrank says:

    wow – amazing words – I felt I was walking to the ocean!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Every time I hear from you, Mihran, you just make me so happy! I hope you’ve been well and making lots of beautiful music.

      Like

      • mihrank says:

        Robyn – Every Time I read over your words, I feel I am in Surface Paradise. If I decide one time to move to Australia, that’s the place.
        I am doing well, busy in concerts, this year is incredible..
        I am in the last stages to have a Radio Internet. I love to share more. Please email me your email to kmihran@hotmail.com
        Cheers;
        MK

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so honored that you consider me one of your angels. I liked this piece anyway, but the dedication made it more special. Thanks sis! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • jamborobyn says:

      Your influence has changed the course of my life for the better. Without you, Lorraine, there would have been no writing and everything that has followed since then. You have an awesome perspective on life that has translated into your voice inside my head at those times when I have doubt – which makes me laugh out loud because you don’t take any bull and your timing is always perfect. Much love and gratitude to you.

      Like

  3. Gracefully and eloquently stated.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sojourner says:

    “All-quiet, by myself
    Waiting for my vision to clear
    I pause to wonder…
    Who said the collective had to be unconscious?”

    This is why I blog! I am alone a great deal. And as my vision clears, I see that the we the people of this world were never meant to be unconscious! We were meant to be awake and aware of each other, and the creation around us, and living the life we have been given to the fullest, together, in a unity that can never be broken.

    I want to say that I am unworthy of being listed with these others. But if you believe I am worthy of this great honor and blessing, then I must be, since I respect and trust you!

    This touches me in more ways than you can know, Robyn. I am so honored to be viewed this way by someone like you, and be among these other wonderful angels who bless you.

    And as I’ve said before, Robyn, and I’ll say it again, you are a bright light that shines in our lives. a light that cuts through the awful darkness. You are our angel as well, Robyn! And while I do not know the other three, I am more than certain they feel the same way!

    I put through a horrible night with my old enemy, asthma. And it’s like the universe is rewarding me, today, for making it through, with your beautiful poem and this wonderful honor you have bestowed on me.

    You have given me a great reason to keep going!

    Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      I was trying to respond to your last comment when I wrote this poem. So forget about being unworthy – look at what you made me do, hehe! We’ve come a long way since that shaky beginning earlier in the year. We’ve also shown that it’s possible to experience the sense of unity that we all seek from any distance, no matter the starting point or the perceived differences. It’s crazy that we are both alone, much as I enjoy my solitude. I think conditions will change for me quite soon and I truly hope they do for you too – otherwise a whole bunch of people are really missing out on something special there. i.e. I am not the only person you will be an angel to in this lifetime, they will find you when they need you. So straight back at ya, Sojourner. Have a great day and I hope that asthma calms down for you quickly. OMG, I am so late to bed that it’s probably gonna be a cranky one tomorrow 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the “amphitheatre for the renaissance” and the night-blindness.
    Wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Too funny, you’ve highlighted the lines I worked the hardest on (or those that required my total surrender before they would settle down into coherence). It’s such a joy to me that you can relate to this piece, Diana. 😀

      My downstairs neighbour has just brought me a beautiful bunch of flowers and introduced herself – after four years. I can’t help thinking everyone is already connected…

      Like

      • Synchronicities (never liked the [sound of the] word but dang it’s a powerful thing that) have abounded in my life lately. I was knee-deep in a book by a rock star Amanda Palmer last night who talks a lot about her community of fans/friends/neighbors. I would never use the word fans in regard to my blogging but the book could easily be all about my blog. “I can’t help thinking everyone is already connected…” So I get this, is what I mean.

        That’s great that I sniffed out the parts you had labored over and died to birth. =) He he.

        Like

Leave a Reply

