The fire that won’t be tamed

particularly attuned to suffering
there are brief moments
when the world unites
with my everyday

returning to the joy that seems to
arise out of nowhere special
naturally, you say,
when one dreams in polarities

aligned with peace
there are also strange mechanisms
of balance; but I don’t know
how to show you that

the more it hurts
the more joy there is
waiting to be expressed
by all of us

a life that is fuelled
by the dynamics of living
is like tending a fire that
cannot be extinguished

it has it’s own momentum

11 thoughts on “The fire that won’t be tamed

  1. Rivera says:

    I once read “A poem begins in delight, and ends in wisdom” This one surely does. Beautifully written.. very nicely done..!! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sojourner says:

    Ditto what Rivera said! Beautiful and wise!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this, especially this last verse
    a life that is fuelled
    by the dynamics of living
    is like tending a fire that
    cannot be extinguished

    I think we all have that fire within us, just sometimes it’s only the embers that glow, which means there is still a life to be had.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Indeed we do all have that fire within us. Well said! When I was really young, the internal image I held of myself was of a tiny flame, that, whilst I couldn’t control the circumstances of my life, I could devote my energy to guarding and protecting that flame. As I’ve gotten older the idea still persists even if I try and abandon it for fancier notions – when the chips are down – all I am concerned with is protecting that flame.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    very well expressed

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

