On love, part 2

ScrollEndless it seems
Laughing at the notion
Of an empty vessel
It’s never barren!

Spilling love left and right
I pause to discuss the
Silliest front-page article.
It’s no secret around here
That my agenda is to maximise
The ratio of smiles-per-minute
While the coffee gets poured.

Next stop, corner shop
and that rude new guy…
I wonder if I should just leave him
To his one-man resistance campaign?
But I am overflowing again.
The subtle double-tap of a sincere
“Thank you so much” and “Have a good day”
Brings the siege to an end while
The surprise brightens his eyes.

Some days I’m not even sure
My feet are making contact
With the concrete.
Aimlessly drifting within a stream
of sorts, I am aware of
No predestination yet
It goes where it will
Liquefying rock-hard hearts
and iron fists.

My fellow humans!
Show me where it ends
Show me the place
Where love cannot enter.

*

Under heaven nothing is more soft and yielding than water.
Yet for attacking the solid and strong, nothing is better;
It has no equal.
Tao Te Ching. 78

On love, part 1

2 thoughts on “On love, part 2

  1. Beautiful love in this poem, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

