Fiction of violence

It’s a breathtakingly sweet sensation
That silence before revelation
You care about this information
I swear there was no indication

All these souls lit with pure emotion
Twice reflecting such dedication
Magnifying our mass devastation
‘Til the density overcame hesitation

Was that babe on the wings of an eagle?
Did he drown in an ocean of evil?
Was he burned from our hearts like the devil?
Laid to rest as a meme for the seagulls?

Now we’re done with silly expectations
‘Twas but a momentary lapse of devotion
To an exercise in overt domination
Paying violence and bombs in reparation

I find nothing civil in a civilisation
That willingly kills civilians of any nation
And oppressing the young through incarceration
Will not quell the human will to emancipation

Thus we preach from our privileged eyrie
About twice removed things we find scary
Looking askance at his face dark and hairy
Lamenting a fictional past that was carefree

*

Update: In particular, this poem is in memory of Alan Kurdi and Ali Saad Dawabshe, but as the day wears on my thoughts have progressed… we are losing so many children daily, I find it all so unacceptable. The very real impact of the pursuit of violence on innocent children flashes across our awareness for brief incandescent moments. A lot of us are outraged, a lot of us do a few clicks and type a few words. No one person can stop this from happening, it needs everyone to care, to maintain a sense of solidarity, to persist even when it hurts too much, until we change our course.

So I’m working on a list of children killed in 2015 due to violent oppression. If you have names or stories to contribute please add them to the comments. Perhaps their image and story did the rounds of social media, perhaps they were covered up or died so quietly that it seemed like they were of no value at all.  All I know is they didn’t die for our entertainment or polite interest, even if only one person in the world thinks they were important, from where I stand every one of them is a real and tragic loss for all humanity.

17 thoughts on “Fiction of violence

  1. I love the lines, ‘I find nothing civil in civilisation’ and the final line of that verse, ‘will not quell the human will to emancipation.’ You’re correct .. if we don’t sustain our outrage at the deaths of the innocent children, and continue to care in practical action, their deaths will have been in vain. Beautifully expressed Robyn!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Thanks Wendy, it floors me that we saw these iconic and heartbreaking images of children dying as a result of violent actions from so-called “defence forces” around the globe and still the show goes on with great fervour. What on earth do they think they’re defending if it isn’t children’s lives? And that’s just one category of violent aggressors. Regardless of what they think, there is no excuse, no justification, no good reason for continuing to escalate the violence. I truly want this scenario to change in my lifetime and I know I’m not alone in wishing for that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Powerful and thought provoking! Yes, we need to not be complacent about violence and horrible deaths happening, especially to young people who are our future. Blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Yes, unfortunately we live in a world where, if we don’t object loudly and consistently, certain groups take that as a license to do whatever they want and somehow they suffer no consequences. It’s the innocents who pay the price with their lives. Thanks so much for your comment.

      Like

  3. sojourner says:

    “I find nothing civil in a civilisation
    That willingly kills civilians of any nation
    And oppressing the young through incarceration
    Will not quell the human will to emancipation”

    Perfectly stated!

    I find nothing civil about civilisation, period! Humanity was better off before civilisation came along!

    And as much as I agree with you here, I would add that any life destroyed by these psychopathic creatures, especially a life that isn’t capable of protecting itself (as in the disenfranchised peoples of this wrold) in any way, should be considered an abomination to all of us.

    From what I have read about the atrocities (crimes against humanity) of this government and its NATO allies, your list will most likely be thousands, perhaps, tens of thousands, of pages long.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      I agree with you 100%…any life! It is strange that somehow, in the very warpedness of their thinking processes, people can find ways to justify the deaths of women, the infirm, the elderly, not to mention ordinary male citizens, but I’m yet to come across anyone who can justify the death of children without feeling some kind of sadness, guilt or regret. So I’m starting with the lowest common denominator, excluding psychopaths of course.

      Unfortunately, you’re probably totally correct about the size of the list. Ten minutes of research into this and I was awash with tears, it’s going to take a while for me to understand the extent of our collective inhumanity. That’s why I have to continue, I want to know what we did last year. Not that it’s any more or less important than any other year, its more to do with the fact that I witnessed a couple of collective split-seconds of united outrage followed by what seems to be apathy or even worse, support for even greater levels of violence. We’ve got to stop putting stupid people in charge and letting them run amok.

      I thank you so much for the comment and the compliment, it’s really great to hear from you, Sojourner 🙂 even though I’m the one who keeps disappearing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sojourner says:

        “We’ve got to stop putting stupid people in charge and letting them run amok.”

        This is what burns in me day and night, Robyn. The billions of us are allowing a couple thousand of them to accomplish all of this horror. It most certainly is us against them, and until we do something, it will remain that way.

        And I hear you, it is much harder, and should be harder, to see the most innocent and helpless among us (children) suffer.

        “…it’s really great to hear from you, Sojourner 🙂 even though I’m the one who keeps disappearing.”

        I’m glad to hear from you, too,. Robyn! I have you on my blogs list, and every once in a while I have checked in just to make sure I hadn’t missed a post.

        You come and go as much as you need to, Robyn! You are always welcome here! And I always look forward to your postings; your insight and wisdom.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Robyn. I’ll never be as brave as you are.
    Thank-you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Okay, here’s what I’m not brave enough to do: discuss it anymore. I don’t – at all! – mean the way you, Robyn, discuss it here. And as for the poem itself, it begs to fly across the world as a weapon!

    What I refuse to face any more has been the repetition over years on social media re the rapidly-increasing level of absolute atrocity. And it ALWAYS CONCLUDES with an unarticulated mutual reassurance that seems to put us all …well, into a kind of sleep.

    Speaking in general terms, I believe that what really underlies our inability to ACT is a very deep-seated sense of ourselves as inexplicably exempt from the agony, the utter anguish, and unbearable pain that violently shakes the surviving children loose from the entire human community. Because there is no way they can even see what is human when the universe splits open, and adults have become bloody monsters.

    I’m guess I’m just too angry, and worn out, Robyn. I feel so alienated that I don’t want to talk to anybody.

    And yet – I do. I want, for example, to talk to you. Darn you poets.

    ________________________________________________

    You see, people ARE there. Every day for years they have suffered beyond their capacity. They know we know. They know we let it happen.
    But we don’t have to let it happen! We can say “Basta! Enough!” and just start moving. If a child is trapped in that burning house, we don’t plan the trip. No. En masse, we just GO. Wherever the slaughter is worst. To airports and ships and bus yards. All we have to know is that adults use their bodies to protect children.
    We won’t know what we will produce until it happens. Of course some people will die, and why shouldn’t some of them be us? But I can promise you what I have known all my life :that the determination and true spirit of the people, and our perhaps forgotten goodness and strength – they will prevail.

    And if it doesn’t, I don’t want to live in the shell of a shattered world. I only want to live in a world I gave my life to save, because that is how I will know I am human..

    ____________________________________________

    Please forgive my strong words. I fear that I will burst if I have to be nice for five more minutes. A lot of it is not being able to walk and not knowing when I’ll be able to.

    Gee,maybe a small band of misfits will hear my true heart and sort of gingerly… tame me until I am again fit for human company.
    If not, just drop me off at the nearest anarchist old folks home.and tell them there’d better not be tofu and brown rice for dinner.

    Love from me to you!

    Claire

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Oh Claire! I hear you! You can imagine the reason I am revisiting this poem right now, after the Hollywood speech, I feel quite ill at everyone’s response and their lack of comprehension at the sheer hypocrisy of it all. Everything I raise as an objection is not being heard clearly, because you’re right. People are in a stupor, they want that obliviousness. I don’t thik we need to talk about it or organize complicated things or ask others to please change their ways, just like you say, we simply need to act from our hearts and do the right thing whenever, wherever and however we can. We are drowning in a sea of empty words and despicable behaviour dressed up as “they MADE me do it.” If that were true, why aren’t they abe to make you fix it or stop doing it?

      Myself and the world are not in sync today, there are a few bright sparks shining in the darkness and they are hurting so deeply that I have to wonder whether their pain is the source of the light… I am here, I hear you, in one comment you have reminded me that all is not lost while there is at least one other shining being holding out for truth, justice and our highest expression of humanity. Love to you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • You heard me? Hurray! Now neither of us will fall, because I heard you too.
        I think to be heard is actually the only thing adult people (well, at least me) really NEED, although we may and do want more: better sex, say, the overthrow of global capitalism, and a starry sky that always loves us. I tend to push my luck by also questioning the cognition of those who don’t laugh at my jokes, although I haven’t expressed that in terms of a specific concern since I was 34 years old…perhaps thirty-six.
        Hey, did you laugh at that?

        What I really want to say is how much it means to allow one another to be okay as we are. When we accept “pain that hurts so deeply, it may be the source of the light” then we remove that person’s burden of having to constantly modify and negotiate any expression of that pain. (You actually helped me to learn that.)

        That’s how human beings learn to just BE. And it’s how we are able to get up the next morning and work on a revolution.

        Love and Rockets,
        Claire

        Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      “Dictatorships breed oppression, dictatorships breed servility, dictatorships breed cruelty; more loathsome still is the fact that they breed idiocy. Bellboys babbling orders, portraits of caudillos, prearranged cheers or insults, walls covered with names, unanimous ceremonies, mere discipline usurping the place of clear thinking … Fighting these sad monotonies is one of the duties of a writer.” -Borges

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I get a strong sense of spoken word rhythm and rhyme here; it almost demands to be heard rather than just read. Some nice lines that could double as song lyrics.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jamborobyn says:

      Hi, really appreciate the feedback. I’ve done spoken word a couple of times, but I struggle with what translates easily into that format. So you can imagine how your comments are quite valuable. Thank you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

